University Teaching Qualification

Dutch universities within the VSNU have created a certificate of quality for lecturers. The University Teaching Qualification (UTQ) is evidence of didactic competence of lecturers in academic education.

The UTQ programme encompasses a customised teaching development phase, culminating in the evaluation of a portfolio: lecturers are supported and guided by a senior lecturer and/or  educational trainer/consultant, and they learn and reflect within a teaching community. The UTQ provides uniformity both in the competencies which academic lecturers must acquire and in how these competencies are tested. At the same time, there is scope for each university to put their own spin on the UTQ programme  for optimal alignment with their institutional profile and the needs of their programmes and lecturers.

More information about the content of the UTQ programme can be found in the report of the Academic Education Centres Working Group (WUO) entitled 'The UTQ in Practice' (only available in Dutch).

Click on the image to view a larger version

Mutual recognition of the UTQ

In 2008, the universities agreed to mutually recognise the University Teaching Qualification. Agreements were made about the features and content of the qualification. All universities included these features in their own qualifications. This recognition meant that certified lecturers would be recognised by all participating institutions as lecturers qualified in academic education, without having to undergo further testing. In 2017, all universities as a cluster take part in a peer review of the UTQ. A national report will be published in spring 2018 with the results of this peer review.

On 23 January 2008, the 14 Dutch universities signed the mutual recognition agreement: Eindhoven University of Technology, Maastricht University, University of Twente, Radboud University, University of Groningen, Tilburg University, Delft University of Technology, Erasmus University Rotterdam, Leiden University, VU University Amsterdam, Wageningen University and Research Centre, Utrecht University, University of Amsterdam and the Open University.

Trend followers

Other university-level higher education institutions have expressed a desire to join the mutual recognition agreement. These institutions are known as 'trend followers'. The UTQ schemes of the following institutions are recognised by the Dutch universities: